diy solar

diy solar

Help, new build

Wahki

Hi guys, I'm completely new to solar but I've been looking at it for quite some time. Well the time has come for me to actually get into it because we are now completely off-grid!!! I am not an electrician or knowledgeable about these things in any way, so I need quite a bit of help and advice...

Firstly, my family and I live in South Africa in a part of the country where we are blessed with abundant sunshine! According to GIS data (https://solargis.com/maps-and-gis-data/) where we live gets on average 5-6 hours of sun per day, and I can tell that is right through the year even in winter it is about 4-5 hours of full sun (semi-desert). Secondly, we are now forced to go solar because the cost to connect to the grid is roughly (and here I'm talking only to bring power to the house, no installation) $1600.00 US, so solar makes sense.

On average we consumed (while on grid) 6kW/h per day, and that ran the following:
Fridge/freezer 730w per day (24hrs)
Computer and monitor 468w (10hrs per day)
LED TV + set-top box 80w (6-8hrs per day, these measurements were done during lockdown in South Africa, one of the longest and hardest lockdowns in the world)
WiFi router (not sure of it's consumption, but it ran 24hrs)
7x9w LED lights (average about 7hrs, at night and early morning)
Cellphone charging: 3x5w (average 3hrs, like I said lockdown figures, oh and kids are homeschooled...)
Tablets: 2x10w (2hrs)
Washing machine 730w (run for 3hrs only on a weekend, this additional usage also added up to our average daily use)
Clothes iron 1600w (20min)
Microwave: 900w (30min)