diy solar

diy solar

Help with Hybrid Inverter Setup

rgomez

First, I want to thank you for the time and help with this inquiry!

I am new to solar system but I want to put a hybrid system in my house in Panama (We used US standard so split phase 120V/240V). I am interested in the Deye 8kW Hybrid inverter but I am having a hard time to understand the inverter rating I need to choose. Under a regular day my load may be 4-7kW; however, when I am using the watching machine and other appliances it may spikes to 14-15kW. My question is: for the Deye inverter the combine output power (Grid+Solar/Battery) can go beyond the rating of the inverter like the below picture? If the answer if no, then the solution will be to put all my home load before the inverter (basically On-grid system) and put a transfer switch to switch from grid to "Load" output of the inverter when the grid is down (off-grid mode). Right?

In the case the answer if the transfer switch method, do I need to also isolated the neutral as well? or just L1 and L2? The grid here does not provide a PE. I have a copper rod.

Thanks again for your time!!

1702337026399.png

Attachments

• 1702336915791.png
    1702336915791.png
    371.3 KB · Views: 1
Under a regular day my load may be 4-7kW; however, when I am using the watching machine and other appliances it may spikes to 14-15kW.
Welcome to the forum!

Many people intermix kW and kWh, it's easy to do. Power vs. Energy. It sounds like you might be also.

kW = power usage at that instant. Most 8kW inverters can surge to 15 kW or more for at least a few seconds but I don't think that's the issue here.

kWh = daily energy usage and that's what you'd find on your electric providers dashboard

Once we hear back from you we can better answer the other questions.

Last edited:
For my loads on my Outback inverter, The ones I want run by the inverter are moved from the main panel to the critical loads panel.