diy solar

diy solar

How clean is the power of a battery-less operation on SunGoldPower TP6048

aussiesam

Hi Everyone, I am new to this, need some feedback to prevent (further) damage. :)
I recently installed a SunGoldPower/ BluePower TP6048 hybrid inverter. I purchased this model because I do not have the budget for batteries, while I fully intend to add some in a few months. The TP6048 allows me to connect the inverter with grid as backup and so I figured its a good way to get started with some solar savings. I am not feeding back into grid. I set this one up as a "mobile" power station with the intention of using it for a mini split and a few more appliances. Everything seems to work ok, but I am seriously wondering what the power quality is like when using it in this configuration. The manual says that certain devices cannot handle power fluctuations but does not specify under what conditions the power would fluctuate.

After speaking to an electrician I was told that if not configured with a battery , the unit needs to balance the load back and forth between utility power and solar and that this constant re-balancing is felt by equipment attached to the inverter and can do damage on the long run. My question is, is his explanation correct?

So far I have connected a few devices and have noticed the following:
1) while connecting a UPS I have seen no voltage fluctuations, no flicks or clicks while on a APC UPS.
2) I connected a small mini split and did notice temperature fluctuations, but since these are hard to measure I am not sure if its all in my head.
3) I connected a larger mini split (took 50% from solar, 50% of grid to power), it didn't cool properly, turned if off for an hour and after turning it on for a second time I got a non power related error and it shut down, the error was related to a refrigerant leak, but the timing of it was very suspicious.