diy solar

diy solar

How much would it cost to build a setup that would replace a Honda 2200watt Generator?

Realmaplesyrup

If something like this has already been discussed please link me. I am a huge newbie but have been following the channel for about a year. I am just curious of how much it would cost to build a very portable set up and take down for camping or emergencies that would be 2200 watts or more.

2200 watts is not really something that could be said to be portable. That's 8 300 watt panels, assuming they actually produce 300 watts which they won't, and that's just daytime production. It all stops at night so you need even more panels and battery storage. Balance this against the fuel consumption of the generator and storage space for it.

What you really need to do is think about your loads and how long you will be using them. Grab yourself a watt meter if it helps and run your appliances for the expected time and use pattern and see how much power you really need. You may well need 2.2kW peak, but only 100 watts averaged across a 24 hour period. Check the FAQ section for the beginners video list. You'll find a clip in there that discusses working out what you need in terms of solar production vs loads and expectations.

Here is a rough estimate 2200 watts * .66 derate * 5 hours = ~7200 watt hours.
Weight is ~50 pounds.
400 amp hours @ 25.6 volts * 8 depth of discharge = 8192 watt hours
Thats ~250 pounds of battery plus a ~2000 watt inverter/charger plus wires and fuses etc.

I just re-figured for 16x 280 ah aluminum case prismatics.
Comes in at under 200 pounds.

Since you're comparing to a Honda rather than a cheap generator I'll throw some "quality" parts. You could do more for far less.
See also:

Item$Notes
Hand Truck
35​
Portable...but awkward (have to lay the panels out).
There's always a Gorilla Cart too ;-)
MAGNUM ENERGY RD2212 2000W, 12V INVERTER/CHARGER
900​
With charger can charge from solar, grid, or both.