diy solar

diy solar

I'm new - question LV6548 120VAC input to 240VAC output

RaiderRC

Hello,

I'm fairly new to this but have been a hobbyist for years. I also have some electrical engineering background. I'm in the process of setting up my first off-grid system for a full-time RV (5th wheel) boondocking setup and am looking for advice from the Prowse community. I have a plan that I think should work, but I'm seeking feedback in case there are any glaring issues. My main reason for posting is to find out about the LV6548 inverters.

Solar:
The entire roof as much as possible, taking off all the roof top AC/s removing generator and installing a dual zone split system.
Batteries:
2x 48v 100Ah rack mounted, can expand later
Inverters:
2x LV6548

The need is for full time live streaming with 2 PC's as well as being able to power an 11Kw instant hot water heater, welder, and compressor if needed. Obviously not all at the same time.

My main question here is, can I use a 120VAC input and still use the inverters as a 240VAC output?

The manual recommends
1710312000133.png

But what if my input power from an RV park or generator only provides 1 leg or a 30amp service.

1710312566577.jpeg
I know that you can't connect L1 on the input to both units as it will damage the system.

Does anyone know if this method will work?

Easiest solution is to purchase a stand alone 120V battery charger. This would allow you to charge batteries directly with 120V, 30A shore power or any kind of small, portable 120V generator.

Alternate would be 120V to 240V step up transformer but the down side of this is you are still relying on the inverters to charge the batteries. With a separate battery charger there are many more options to charge batteries and be able to connect an emergency inverter if the LV's fail or use a DCDC converter to at least operate the 12V appliances.