diy solar

diy solar

LG leaving the Solar Panel market this year.

robby

Photon Vampire
LG is winding down all PV production plants in 2022 but promises existing customers continued support during the warranty period.

LG is winding down all PV production plants in 2022 but promises existing customers continued support during the warranty period.
I'm a total solar newb so I can't speak to their panels, but LG shut down their phone biz last year and it's been disappointing. There's already a significant delta between promised and actual "continued support and updates." They may *intend* to support these products now, but a year after that market is gone from their product portfolio and nobody's annual bonus is riding on how well they keep those promises, all bets are off about what continued support will look like.

I'm a total solar newb so I can't speak to their panels, but LG shut down their phone biz last year and it's been disappointing. There's already a significant delta between promised and actual "continued support and updates." They may *intend* to support these products now, but a year after that market is gone from their product portfolio and nobody's annual bonus is riding on how well they keep those promises, all bets are off about what continued support will look like.
It will cause a class action lawsuit if they do not honor those warranties. When I bought my Panels I only looked at LG and Pansonic because they were the only two companies that I had any faith in that they would be around for the long term. I kind of figured they might not be in the Solar market but they would still be around and be liable.
They have sold millions of panels for lots of money. I am sure that people are not going to just take no for an answer if they have a warranty issue. This is not like a phone with a one year warranty, this is a 25 year warranty that people paid into.