diy solar

diy solar

My 48V PIP-3048LV-MK MPPSOLAR project with 400watt panels stumble, need some help

mattnyc

Hi Guys,

I have received all of the stuff I ordered including the 48v PIP-3048LV-MK MPP Solar 3000watt Inverter All-In-One system. I purchased these Trina 400watt panels which output like 41~v and intended to hook 6 of them up in parallel. I've built the battery bank with BLS LifePo4 Cells configured in 48v no problem.

The MPP Solar Unit wouldn't detect PV input so I contacted support and they pointed out that these units require 60-115v~ MPPT Range.

So, I am thinking that from the videos I heard will say we need to build in 400,800,1200,1600 watt systems connected in parallel. My interpreation from the MPP Solar response is to connect these in series bringing it up to 80v, but that's not what I've read anywhere so I'm not going to do something like that until I feel confident that is the right thing to do, as its SCARY! I am a complete newbie to this. But I'm a overall tech savy, and a software dev by trade so.... I think I got everything right from the videos.

Can anyone shed some light on what I should do? This is being mounted in a 29' Class A RV and I'm test setting it up on my lawn ATM.

solar panel specs pic: https://drive.google.com/file/d/13N3Ub1qMGddgmyBjB3-cK85N3TQP6p-u/view?usp=sharing
PIP-3048LV-MK specs pic MPPT Range in manual data sheet: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1M1RrrXu4KMlYZZLIrf58_G8PxhkvV3rE/view?usp=sharing

Attachments

• mypanels400.jpg
    mypanels400.jpg
    93.9 KB · Views: 25
  • bickdnnolohppodp.png
    bickdnnolohppodp.png
    82.1 KB · Views: 23
bring the pv voltage up,series your panels.i did same thing.you'll be fine.

Yes hook them up 2s then 3p of those you will be fine and it may even produce a weeeee bit more energy over the course of a full day.
Actually, that's the only way You can do it, and still stay in the voltage specs.