diy solar

diy solar

New Guy Here

Bogey1

Hello,

Warning: This is a long post so it might take a minute to read, and if it is not allowed just delete it

Thanks for letting me join this forum and I hope everyone had a happy, and safe, holiday season. So, quick background: I have no real RV, or solar, knowledge but I have 20 years of electronics experience from the Navy. I have a travel trailer parked on some mountain property and the electric company wants $12k to install power, plus I need to get the ditches dug, another $4k, and I need to buy all panels. So it will probably be around $15k for electricity, which I will eventually need for a house but that is at least 5 years away. I currently have a brand new tri-fuel 7,500 watt generator on site, but we don't run it at night because of the noise, not for us but for others in the area that are trying to enjoy the peace and quiet. We also don't want to have to run it all day long with ethanol-free gas being about $5 a gallon. After talking, in great detail, with my RVing neighbor, he recommended I go solar. I began watching videos, but most seemed to be over the top for what I need, so I posted on some Facebook groups and everyone recommended Will Prowse. I looked him up, watched a couple of videos, and read his comments where he said he does not do consultations and that it is best to join this forum to ask for help.