diy solar

diy solar

New IRS requirements for battery tax credit. False alarm, please ignore.

JoeHam

Solar Wizard
I’m no tax expert but I believe there are a couple new rules to get the 30% tax credit for batteries.

Specifically:

The batteries must be at least 3 kWh. I don’t recall seeing that in years past.

And the most surprising one:

THE BATTERIES MUST BE 100% CHARGED BY SOLAR !

Don’t EVER use your AIO grid connection to charge or a chargeverter or a backup generator charger or…….

But, I’m not sure how they would know if you used it occasionally ?.

Here is a reference for the 3kWh requirement:

And for the 100% solar charging see here :

One of the most pertinent (and surprising/disturbing) paragraphs from that private letter ruling is this one :

“While some questions remain unanswered, the PLR is good news in that it confirms that subsequently-installed batteries may be eligible for the Residential Solar Credit. However, taxpayers must be careful that they can demonstrate that 100 percent of the energy used by the battery is derived from a solar source.”

Last edited:
THE BATTERIES MUST BE 100% CHARGED BY SOLAR !
The private letter ruling was from 2016, prior to the explicit credit for batteries.
I have until recently been documenting how my batteries were charged. I recently relaxed my thinking under the impression that that was the old rule and that was no longer necessary. My last battery purchase was in 2021 and I took the tax credit that year. Until recently I have kept the logs to prove that the batteries were charged from solar. This past winter because of the weather, I charged my batteries more from the grid. I am still curious what the current rules are with respect to the need to charge from solar?

The private letter ruling was from 2016, prior to the explicit credit for batteries.

Again, I’m just a DIY hack who doesn’t know much about taxes or what supercedes what.

FWIW the PLR was Priv. Ltr. Rul. 2018-03-009 (Mar. 2, 2018) (the “PLR”)