diy solar

diy solar

New member , advice please/show and tell

Richiepettifer

Hello . New member ,

I am new to solar and just wanted to check a few things and learn more .

I have installed 2x 100w solar panels on the roof of my summer house . To power my outdoor lighting, ventilation etc

I have made a diy box with timers etc to run the lights . (Don’t judge if it’s not up to scratch, I’m a mechanic by trade lol)

I am using a 12v 100ah efb battery ,
But I’m never sure what the solar charger voltage should be . Can I assume if it’s only running at 12.8 volts , that the battery is charged and the controller has dropped voltage down because of this ?

What should it drop to at night when all the lights and vents are on ?

Here are some pics . And some feedback would be helpful , as I didn’t get much instructions with my solar kit . It was only about £200 on Amazon , I just got fed up of unreliable outdoor solar lights .

Thanks

Richie 29A4DB84-9163-46B5-A186-F2265F29B2F3.jpeg9FC7D911-38EC-4DFE-ADF4-8BEBCF10C2F2.jpeg2FB69BAB-D07A-44F0-B08B-DD034AEF3944.jpeg

How many Wh are you consuming?

Compute by compiling:
Device: X watts used for Y hours/day; X * Y = Z Wh/day
Find your total daily Wh for all devices.

Your panels wired in parallel?
You are in a region with poor solar?
Winter sun well to the South right now?
Panels are tilted mostly East/West? Optimal Winter tilt for you yould likely be about 50-60° from horizontal facing South.

AGM battery?
Charge controller is set to AGM or SLA (Sealed lead acid) setting?

Your AGM should be charged to somewhere between 14.0 and 14.6V - depending on battery specification. If it's not listed 14.4V is a decent number. Once that voltage is reached, it should stay there for a couple hours. It should then drop and hold 13.6V as long as there is enough solar to hold it there and power any loads.