diy solar

diy solar

New Property in township with no power ! Help

Rydermacd

Northern Honestead
Hey all, new here and this is my first post. My wife and I ( & soon to be plus one!) are moving to Maine on a property (34 acres) mostly cleared in a township with no power. We have decided we will be going with solar to power our home, year round greenhouses, barn & farm stand with commercial kitchen.

So with these buildings being located throughout the property, my first question is, should there be one location with a power/ battery shed that I then run power underground to all locations that need power? Or do I have 2 or more separate locations where I set up panels and a battery shed ? We don’t have endless money, but know this isn’t cheap. Each location/building will have a decent amount of electrical needs.

We have started making a list of components we will be using that need power . Right now our current monthly usage for our home is 1,500 kWh.

I’m still very new to understanding amps, volts, kilowatts, inverters, batteries and panels. I’m
A farmer, so I know I gotta point them south that’s about it haha.

Thank you in advance .

If you have a lot of wire to run to different locations, look into a high voltage to cut down on cost.

If the buildings are within 250ft of each other I would do one powerhouse and run power out from there. Probably site the powerhouse nearish to the largest draw, probably the main house. Panels can be far from the powerhouse, the high voltage panel DC power travels well.

I'll throw out my recommendation for Schneider equipment here. I don't assume I can jump to that for everyone but for this application I think it's right sized and you're likely to have motor loads on a farm that can benefit from it's strengths.

If you will be heating and cooking with oil/propane then you can probably start off with one XW Pro. If your intentions are all electric the scale gets a lot more serious.