diy solar

diy solar

New to solar, introduction, possible problems?

PenderBen

Hello all, first time poster, long time lurker :)
I’m a total solar/off grid novice by all means, no prior experience and not the most electrically knowledge, but reading lots and trying hard to understand it all.
Sorry for the long post, I have tried searching the forum and the web in general but am still unsure of some things.

We’re pretty deep into building an off grid house and studio in the Gulf Islands BC; about 3 years in to construction and getting close to done, the two buildings are about 1000sqft total, heavily insulated, slab on grade, wood construction.

Primary heat is in slab with Rinnai propane combi boilers (one for each building), and a small Jotul wood stove in the house building. We’ll be using a propane range. Main power loads will be fridge (390kwh), two HRVs (small load, not sure offhand how much), boilers (also quite small draw), lighting (all LED), and ultimately small electronics (once we’re in there will be modem, router, TV use, small device charging, etc).

It’s been a lot of work, even having contractors do most of the work, I’m doing what I can but time and to some extent skill is limited, plus making sure it’s all up to code.
I’ve hired what I can, including the off grid system. I had a reputable semi local ‘solar guy’ who’s been in the industry since at least the 80’s and done numerous other systems on island design the system and our electrician do the install (he had minimal experience with off grid, not none, but this was his biggest off grid job).
Once the system install was done (which was some time over the summer) I was pretty much on my own, no follow up support from anyone (the electrician has been helpful but isn’t all the knowledge on the subject), the designer just told me to ‘read the manuals’ which is what I’ve done. I’d hoped for more help in at least initial setup.