diy solar

diy solar

Off grid Design- water pump and extra power

pda1

I need help in designing an off-grid system, here are the energy requirements;

- 12 vdc water pump (about 50 watts) https://www.nemopumps.com/
- Computers- (about 500 watts 120 VAC) (wouldn't be running all of the time- only a few hours a day)
- A few led lights (about 50 watts 120 VAC) (only when needed, which is a variable)

What I think I need, in basics are- PV panels, charge controller, inverter

System must be run off of lead-acid battery(s)

What system components would you recommend to satisfy the energy needed above?
Are there any other components I should add?

Thank you,

Peter

I have about the same needs but I run a mini refrigerator instead of a computer
Here's what I have been using for 3 years
2- 300 watt panels (mounted with manual tilting capability) mono or poly doesn't really matter
1- farm lead acid battery (group 31; 175 minutes reserve capacity)
1- 1000 watt pure sine-wave inverter
1- cheap pwm 30A controller ( ebay or amazon) - my only recommendation here is get one that has a heat sink style back plate and mount it on stand-offs to allow good air flow for cooling)

Hey, I am currently building a very similar system. I also did a video about my design process (more to come)

In general, it really depends what budget you have. I would suggest a MPTT controller to be flexible in the future in case you want to change something (e.g. the panel or number of panels). As you have a max of around 10A (12V) which would mean you can pull the power for 10 hours from a 100Ah LiFePO4 or a 200Ah lead acid. The question is also how much sun you have? Cloudy weather means almost no energy and you need a bigger battery if you need power on cloudy days as well.

Ah, now that's most helpful.

Now, is there any reason why I can't increase the power to 800 or 900 watts....just to have enough standby power so to speak?

Any opinion on Low Voltage Disconnects?

Thank you for the help.

Peter