diy solar

diy solar

Panel selection and install design for pick up truck topper

BirdDog

As a dyi solar newbie, I have a few questions regarding proposed 200 watt panel install on my truck's ARE fiberglass topper.

Background:
My truck topper has an existing Yakima roof rack system that I often use to transport paddleboards. I want to attach the solar panel directly to the rack system roof track rails using anchors inserted into track rails. To reduce the wind resistance, I don't want to attach panel on top of rack crossbars so I can still use the overhanging crossbars for my paddleboards.

The unobstructed surface available within the constraints of the rack system‘s crossbars and rail tracks is an area of 46”length and 36.5” width.

My current panel of choice is a single 200 watt Rich RS-M200 (mono) which has a length of 58.7” and width of 26.8”. I want to keep the panel width less than than 36” between the track rails.

The proposed 200 watt Rich panel length will extend beneath the rear rack system crossbar, resulting in a constant shading of almost 10% of the panel‘s PV surface area (without the paddleboards). I don’t have a brand preference, priority is optimizing dimensions and minimizing wind resistance.

Questions:
1. Will the the crossbar shading (up to 10%) only reduce the panel’s wattage output by the same percentage?

2. Assuming the panel is fastened securely to the rack system rails, do I need to be concerned about damage to the panel from excessive wind loadings on the highway?

3. Is there another panel with dimensions that would better fit my truck topper roof surface area constraints?

4. Are there pros and cons of using one panel instead of two?05FAF03F-9FEB-47B7-9A3B-71381534A81A.jpegBF3EF628-97B3-41BD-BBF2-2FE49CC87E77.jpeg

1. Will the the crossbar shading (up to 10%) only reduce the panel’s wattage output by the same percentage?
my guess would be a much higher percentage.