diy solar

diy solar

Solar/Battery/Grid system based on EG4 18KPV Powerpro

mciholas

Solar Enthusiast
I’m new to designing solar power systems, so I am hopeful to draw on the combined experience and wisdom of the group to review my proposed system design. My parents live in Sarasota, FL about 4 miles inland and are looking into installing grid attached solar and battery on their house.

Most of the motivation is to provide for a means for backup power during the numerous outages they experience, and, if necessary, provide backup power for days after a hurricane that has wiped out the grid in the area. Their house is of relatively recent build, with concrete walls, and they recently replaced all doors and windows with hurricane rated ones. Due to my father’s health issues, they cannot move or evacuate during such an event and must stay and ride it out (as they did with hurricane Ian in 2022, lost power for 30 hours, the house had only minor damage). Thus they want some form of emergency power.

They also suffer frequent and infuriating blink outs of power, just long enough to reset all the clocks and computers that aren’t on UPS units. They have UPS all over the house, about 12 of them, and the battery replacement chores and constant beeping when their batteries fail is annoying. Thus a system which has a very fast transfer time would be highly desirable so they can reduce or eliminate the UPS units all over the house.

Further, there is a general interest in generating their own power and being energy neutral if possible. Presently, they can get net metering with the utility, but that is under legislative threat. A system which is adaptable to the changing grid attach rules would be good.