diy solar

diy solar

Planning stage

swfl_extreme

Hello all....my first post, so please go easy on me. Just looking for honest direction. I have a detached garage and a couple other outbuildings that I would like to build a system for. The garage consumption will just be an opener, lights, and a few receptacles (some occasional power tool use, but mainly for charging lithium 18v, 24v, and 60v batteries). The 2nd outbuilding will just be lights and a single receptacle. The 3rd outbuilding will have a circuit to run lights and a receptacle (which will be for a 3000w blow dryer on a very rare occasion).
Ideally, I want to install an AC panel in the garage and run individual circuits/breakers. I have a good understanding of electrical as my father has been a master electrician since the 1970s and I am a former electronics technician in the US Navy. That said, the concept of a solar system is new to me and so I am doing my research. I would appreciate any advice on where I should start. Is there a good "solar kit" that I could start with and then add on later if need be? Thanks in advance.

Sounds like a single 6-12kW hybrid inverter w/ 240V split-phase AC might do the trick for you.

Depending on your budget and comfort level with chinese electronics (and, really, whether you think you might grid-tie this system), there are a lot of choices out there ranging from Growatt, MPP, Sol-Ark, etc. Some sites to check out include: santansolar.com, watts247.com, and signaturesolar.com (there are others, but just to name a few of the popular options here).

Edit: As one example of a more budget-oriented inverter.. these Growatt Hybrid inverters are capable of stacking - so while they're only 120v, they can be paralleled for split-phase 240V: https://signaturesolar.com/growatt-5kw-stackable-off-grid-inverter-spf-5000-es/