diy solar

diy solar

please review my planned system!

emily_in_hawaii

Hi everyone!

Off-grid solar newbie here, trying to cobble together a system out of components I have lying around. Will this work?

-One 25.6 volt, 200ah LifePo Victron battery
-MidNite Solar Kid 30 Amp MPPT charge controller
-800 watt pure since wave inverter 24vdc to 120vac
-Two, 415-watt BSM415M10-54HPH solar panels, operating voltage 37.41 [I want to wire them in parallel, as they will be partially shaded sometimes. Is this an OK idea?]
-10 AWG wire

Thank you in advance for your suggestions and critiques!

Em

Yes it will work, but an equipment list is not a plan. :)

I would recommend drawing up your equipment into a diagram - showing all the equipment, wires & fuses &bus bars.

Hint:you will need thicker cable than 10awg, for the main cable going between the battery bus bars and inverter.
Also, I HIGHLY recommend a shunt based battery monitor- like a Victron Smartshunt or BMV712. The voltage curve is so flat on lithium batteries you cannot know if you are almost full or almost empty. The shunt gives you all the needed info.

Don’t forget fuses - the fuses job is to protect the wire - not the equipment.

Yes it will work, but an equipment list is not a plan. :)

I would recommend drawing up your equipment into a diagram - showing all the equipment, wires & fuses &bus bars.

Hint:you will need thicker cable than 10awg, for the main cable going between the battery bus bars and inverter.
Also, I HIGHLY recommend a shunt based battery monitor- like a Victron Smartshunt or BMV712. The voltage curve is so flat on lithium batteries you cannot know if you are almost full or almost empty. The shunt gives you all the needed info.

Don’t forget fuses - the fuses job is to protect the wire - not the equipment.