diy solar

diy solar

Positive attitude, Neutral preconceptions, looking for a Sine

MeicalNissyen

hey all,

I've been mulling this about for a couple years now, its time to get my checkbook out.

I'm on well&septic, power supplied by Teco, Use 40kwh/day summer, 25 in the winter.
power comes as 220 on a A&B pair of 110 leads which, I believe is called split phase

Why am I here? mainly, crappy power reliability. the bill is ~1100/year. replacing Teco will cost me well north of 15K, so this is not primarily an economic thing.
but the drops, resets, the load flicker in the lighting I can see when a major appliance kicks on, 2 dead TV;s, one dead reciever, that crap, thats worth 15K.

So, eventually I'll be off grid with panels keeping up with my load, but upfront, I want to run the entire household from my inverter(s), drawing from a 48v battery rack.
Teco can be used to keep them charged.

an I can go like that indefinitely.

That brings me to where I need some forum love.

I've noted the world has started calling things by lots of names. my recent re-exploration of the world of weed, after a 30 year hiatus, brings to mind a great example:
"threaded battery"

So, what is the current term for the above setup?

Next,
Forum help need I have,

Wants vs Needs

Teco does not supply it, but I have a fascination with 3 phase 240. My first career was machining, and I have a decent freestanding garage. lift, welder, air compressor etc. a bridgeport could move in next to the lathe any day now. 3 phase tools are more common, better, occasioally cheaper, but it would be a nice, not vital thing to have. My understanding is that I can create that with 3 matched inverters. would the grid tie charging be an issue? using the TECO split to the bats. ?

Inverter sizing
take the common 6500watt, 3 of those is 20K total. that number, 20K watts that refers to peak current flow capacity? not over time but supplying 6500 each ? yea?