diy solar

diy solar

Possible power drain

Hi, newbie here and wondering if anyone can suggest anything

My current setup in my Renault trafic camper

4x 100w renogy solar panels in parallel but done in 2 separate inputs to the 30A Renogy Rover MPPT controller and then 5x130Ah leisure batteries so a 12v setup, all is brand new and I've never let the charge drop below 50%. It also has a split charge relay from the alternator to charge while I drive

I have 3 led lights that run from the controller at 12v and a 1500w pure sine wave inverter wired directly to the battery bank

The inverter literally runs a 40l 240v fridge which at peak shows 200w when on full blast but I have it on a low setting so 45w when it's on

After a full charge and 100% reading, if I leave the fridge on overnight by 8am the charge is reading around 70%.... Understandable I guess?

My worry is that with everything powered off, fridge & inverter so absolutely no load at all overnight, my morning reading is still between 75&80%

Is this normal with temperature change or do I have a power drain somewhere?

The only change I haven't tried yet is to disconnect the relay but the van battery is brand new as well

Any advice much appreciated guys, & thanks

James

How do you obtain charge reading percent? If it is a simple battery voltage reading converted to SOC it likely is not very accurate especially so if under charge or discharge.

The absolute best way to determine the true charge of a lead-acid battery is with a battery hydrometer, with the best accuracy from a temperature-correcting model. I have a Denka. Something like this. It's a bit more tedious, but gives you very accurate numbers.

Hello all and thanks for your help