diy solar

diy solar

Purchase considerations

loraine1971

I'm new to solar and am looking to have a grid tied system. My electric provider has a Monopoly in this area and they're the only provider I can use. Every stage of the solar project has to be pre-approved and signed off on by them before allowing me to hook my system into their Network. Everything has to be done by licensed installers and even the blueprints have to be presented to them by an engineering firm for approval before any work begins. That being said I got an estimate from a solar company which was $27,000 for 17 panels that will provide at minimum 75% of my current electrical usage 6.08 kilowatts During peak times with optimum weather it's been estimated to exceed that. Now I'm a newbie at all this stuff but I've done a little research and 27,000 seems really high for labor and panels and installation. I know it's going to be a bit on the pricey side because of all the permits and approvals involved in my area but I wanted to get y'all's thoughts on this and we greatly appreciate any insights or concerns that might be apparent to some of you seasoned solar veterans. Thank you for your time and patience.

I analysed my location and its potential and worked out with the max panels plus a battery I can go off grid 8 out of 12 months. You should be able to do better if you have space for the panels, where I am in Winter I only get 10% of the summer output. When I go back on the grid I only connect the amount of PV my local electricity supplier will take and so did it all DIY as it was under the permission threshold for UK of 3.68kw.

So if you have the space for the panels and do not have to pay for special installers and just use qualified electricians and no fees for signing off could you go off grid. As long as you disconnect all the PV, batteries you could still use the grid as a backup when there is a string of cloudy days..