diy solar

diy solar

PV Battery SoC drops way too quickly

Bast

Hi all,

Complete newbie here so go easy on me :)

I'm having a problem with my current PV setup: the battery seems to deplete far too quickly.

My set up is as follows:
  • A charger/inverter: EPEVER UPower UP1000-M3212 (manual here, data sheet here)
  • 2 x 160W panels: Enjoy Solar® Poly Solar Panel, 160 Watt, 12 Volt, Polycrystalline, wired in series (specs here)
  • A single 130Ah 12V AGM deep cycle battery: EcoBat EDC12-110 (specs here)

Connected to the inverter (~230V) are:
  • a small fridge that draws around 0-40W (and occasionally more than 40W)
  • garden lighting that should draw around 20W (20 x 1W LED bulbs) but seems to draw around 80W according to the inverter (I'm sure this discrepancy can be explained somehow but my understanding of electronics is fairly limited). The lighting kicks in at sunset and switches off at 22:00.
  • Occasionally I use it to charge an e-bike battery

So, for the sake of my question let's say a nominal load of around 100W on the inverter.
Now, if I'm not wrong, my battery should be able to handle that load for 130Ah x 12V = 1560Wh, 1560Wh / 100W = 15.6 hours, on a theoretical 100% DoD. The EPEVER seems to limit the DoD to about 50% though, so let's say 15.6 hours / 2 = 7.8 hours. That is 7.8 hours AT LEAST, because the nominal load is often much lower than 100W (see graph below).

What seems to happen is, as long as the PV is supplying power, the batteries stay at around 100% SoC. But as soon as the sun sets, the SoC seems to plunge according to the EPEVER. After that, SoC drops more slowly and the battery lasts for about 2/3 hours max before the battery SoC reaches 50% and the utility charger kicks in. On top of that the nominal load was way lower than 100W. More like 45W with some spikes to about 100W (see chart).

This is a graph of the past 24 hours (it looks about the same each day):

EPEVER graph.jpg