diy solar

diy solar

SOC drops consistantly with no drain.

IRMartini

I'm new to all this after having a full system installed Oct last year and although I'm coming up to speed with understanding whats going on and making sense of the data I have noticed something that looks a bit odd to me?

After the battery has reached its lower cut off value so my inverter reports that I'm only using energy from the gird the battery SOC drops 1% roughly every 2 hours very consistently.
(I currently have the cut off set higher than normal due to the lack of daylight hours I didn't want the SOC to speed months at very low levels that's bad isn't it!? normally the cut off is set at 10%)

Capture.JPG

Is this expected behaviour?

Thanks for any help or advice.

Do you have anything connected between the shunt and the battery. If so you will have a battery drain that is not captured by the shunt as a load and will not adjust the SOC.

It may be the idle draw on your inverter. In the same state, my inverter pulls a nearly constant 30 watts. This is normal. Depending on the inverter(s) it could be 100 watts or more.

Some inverters run off battery power internally. They will stop using battery for your load at the cut off point, but keep using it to power themselves. Mine takes around 30W in that state. There may be a lower cut off point when the inverter will top the battery up a little from the grid, just to prevent it going too low. I have my minimum SOC set to 12% and force charge SOC set to 10%.

Thank you for the replies its very much appreciated.

Grakat,
I'm not familiar with the term 'shunt' I'm assuming its the inverter or maybe a specific part of the inverter, either way I do not believe I have anything between the battery and my inverters so I don't think this is the reason especially considering what I have learned below.

400bird & rpdom,
This sounds like what I'm seeing!
My battery is 9.4kWh with 8.93kWh useable