diy solar

diy solar

Separate ground from household panel? How to ground?

Puzzled2

Hello, rank beginner here.
I have just purchased a lux power 6,000 XP, a 14.3 KW wall mounted lithium battery, and (8) 545 Watt solar panels. My plan is to add another 8 panels within the next 6 months. I have a few questions. For the time being I plan to keep it completely separate from my household panel because I'm worried about unintentional back feeding to the grid. So I plan to take a number of circuits from my household panel to put into another smaller panel that I will power with solar. My first question is: These circuits are grounded to the household system and panel. Will this interfere with the grounding of the solar system? I imagine that I will be grounding the solar panels as well. How do I do this? With one or more grounding rods?
Another question is that the solar panels have to be situated about 400 ft from my house, do I need to beef up the wires coming from the solar panel to the house to avoid excessive line losses? I have not yet purchased these wires.
Thanks for any advice, and could you possibly phrase your advice as though I'm 12 yrs old?
Puzzled2

Hello, rank beginner here.
Welcome to the DIY Solar Forum - great first step joining the membership so you can post questions and we can help you.
You list Edmonton AB location - you come under the Canadian Electrical Code "CEC" which although similar to the US NEC, these are not identical, and local (provincial, municipal) regs can add (but not remove) requirements. When you read information posted on the forum always keep in mind the international community here, check where the poster is from as you read comments.
I have just purchased a lux power 6,000 XP, a 14.3 KW wall mounted lithium battery, and (8) 545 Watt solar panels. My plan is to add another 8 panels within the next 6 months.
A good start.