diy solar

diy solar

Series or Parallel

jimmy747

Hello everyone, I did a lot of research before posting and found many controversies on parallel vs series. I am an electrician so I understand the benefits in effeciency
of conecting my 6 400 watts panels in parallel.. I bought an overkillled hybrid inverter for expansion. But for now I will start with 6 panels and my Growatt SPF 5000 ES.
I am thinking of connecting the 6 panels in parallel with in line 10 A fuses, a DC disconnect box but no combiner box. They will be mounted on the roof of my garage. I am an experience electrician but new to solar. I would greatly appreciate feedback from expert in the field before I commit to a specific configuration. Thank you in advance. Jimmy.

Insufficient information. Voltage data needed for inverter and panels.

PV Vmp must be > peak battery charge voltage.

Typical 400W panels in 6P would likely have a Voc around 50V and Vmp around 41V.

I apologize for lack of info. My project does not involve batteries. Here in Aruba between 11 am and 5 pm the panels will be in full sun. I just want to power a 24,000 split unit AC during that time. The unit consumes about 1,300 watts max when starts and dropped to around 400 watts. Should the AC unit need more than the panels are providing let’s say a rare day of clouds, the SPF 5000 ES will take what is missing from the grid. Growatt manufacture confirmed that. I just watch another video explaining that in series is safer. FYI I am. Or expecting any shade. It’s wide open. Thank you

I apologize for lack of info. My project does not involve batteries. Here in Aruba between 11 am and 5 pm the panels will be in full sun. I just want to power a 24,000 split unit AC during that time.