diy solar

diy solar

SOK battery in severe cold

thepartyhound

Christian Prepper
I have recently installed a Victron Multiplus 12/3000(original, not Multiplus 2) and (2) 100Ah SOK batteries in a slide in camper. These batteries, AFAIK, were not offered with heaters in them. I installed a 25w reptile warming pad under the batteries. So, I'm pretty new to this and I'm trying to get a good handle on how these batteries are going to function under different conditions just so I know ahead of time.
The last time I was in my camper, 2 nights ago, after charging and balancing the batteries I shut everything down. Turned off the Multiplus, turned off the diesel heater, lights, etc. I came in here tonight and of course this blizzard of '24 is well under way. It is currently -25°F and -50°F windchill. It's cold! I sure wish this global warming I hear people talk about would hurry up!
I come in here expecting to fire up my diesel heater, but my batteries are completely off! No DC lights, no dc anything. I turn on the multiplus expecting the voltage would wake the batteries. Nope. Even with the Multiplus producing DC the diesel heater will not fire...although I guess that problem requires a different forum. I get the fire going, then start the built in propane furnace. After about an hour I notice that the SOKs are ready to speak to me via bluetooth. They finally woke up. Looks like the warmer is doing its thing, slowly but surely.
I was able to revive everything THIS time, but I was able to cheat with a 50' extension cord. I have built this camper with the sole intent of using it in the northern winter in remote locations. Hopefully I will always have a generator at the ready, but those can be difficult to start @ -25°F!
Why did my batteries stop supplying power and why did they take nearly an hour to wake up? I understand that I cannot charge them until they warm to above freezing, but I thought they were able to discharge at temps far colder than that.