diy solar

diy solar

Solar for a E-250 Van Conversion

Divtruk

I have recently retired and I am in the process of converting a 2010 Ford E-250 handicap van into my vacation camper. I do not plan on living in this van but I would like to be comfortable on some extended adventures. I am in the planning stages of the solar power system need some advice from you fine folks.

I have close to 40 years of experience working with low voltage DC systems so I do not need help with the wiring, termination, things of that nature. What I need is some advice on the components and a bit of the layout. The only thing I have purchased so far is 3 Renogy 100 Watt solar panels. I needed to get the panels first as I was welding up a custom roof rack and needed to know where to add supports. Also because a buddy had bought some he didn’t end up using and sold them to me cheap.

I do not want to go overboard on this system but I want enough power that I am comfortable in my travels. I come from the old school of thought to KISS (Keep it simple stupid). I want it simple and robust (if thats even possible). My initial component list is as follows

(3) 100 Watt Solar Panels - already purchased

Victron MPPT 100/50 Solar Charger

Victron Smart Shunt with BMV-712 Smart Monitor

200 Ah (minimum) of Lithium Batteries

2000 Watt Inverter

Victron Blue Smart IP22 AC/DC Charger

Manual 120 VAC Shore Power Transfer Switch

My plan is to have the AC/DC charger on the shore power side of the transfer switch. That way I start charging the batteries as soon as I plug in the shore power and don’t have to worry about turning the transfer switch inside the van.

So the initial questions I have are:

1. Should I go with the inverter and manual transfer switch and separate charger? Or step up to an inverter/charger? My worry is the inverter/charger combo is one more thing that can go wrong. A manual transfer switch is just that, a switch. Not much to go wrong