diy solar

diy solar

Solar math makes my head hurt

spudbudy

Hello, fellow beginners and solar guru's alike. I'm just beginning to plan out my solar system and for some reason my ability to do simple math
is escaping me. The panels are tentative to be 160 watt X 12 for a system total of 1920 watts if my math work. Now here is where it goes south for whatever reason
the numbers don't seem to add up. Most likely I'm missing or skipping a step or 2.

160 watts
VOC 19.83
ISC 9.75
VMP 16.77
IMP 9.83
No panel fuse info
Max system Voltage 1000
Power Tolerance =-3%
I don't have any other temp info other then + or - some %

Now I'm trying to figure out the best configuration for these panels. I plan on using a Magnum Energy PT100 solar charge controller.
Going into a 400AH Lithium battery bank out to a Magnum Energy MSH3012RV to power both 50 amp legs in the fifth wheel.
I plan on using a 12 volt system. My numbers seem to be on the low side so I'm unsure what I'm doing wrong, this is what I get?
Possible configurations

2S/6P =39.66 Volts and 58.5 Amps
3S/4P= 59.49 Volts and 39 Amps
4S/3P= 79.32 Volts and 29.25 Amps
6S/2P= 118.98 Volts and 19.50 Amps
12S = 237.96 Volts and 9.75 Amps

Would someone kindly either point me to a calculator or explain to me what I'm doing wrong?
I've watched many video's on hooking up solar panels, so I know I'm missing something with the temperature affecting Volts and Amps.
Any help would be very much appreciated. My biggest fear is doing the math wrong and either overloading wires or components and starting a fire.
Plus, I would prefer to buy the right parts the first time and not have to replace undersized components. The Sunshine may be free but the parts are expensive.

Thank you to all of the DIYsolarforum groups for your assistance

Last edited:
From the data sheet:

The PT-100 is a Maximum Power Point Tracker (MPPT) charge controller
ELECTRICAL SPECIFICATIONS