diy solar

diy solar

Solar Powered GrowBox Concept

SearchingforAnswers

I am a student studying design and innovation and am working on a concept for a solar powered growbox using transparent/semi transparent photovoltaic glass. This type of pv glass does not currently generate as much electricity as the opaque monocrystalline polycrystalline panels we are more familar with but I believe it should generate enough energy to power a couple of a LED grow lamps for a few hours. I am trying to work out the electrical configuration and the components that I would need for my concept to be viable. Can anyone give any pointers on whether the proposed wiring diagram would work in practice. (Will this work without an inverter?). Any thoughts you can give me on my proposed design would be very much appreciated.

Wiring Diagram for Solar Powered GrowBox.JPG
Here are some pictures of the growbox design. I intend to house the Battery and an MPPT Charge Controler in one of the compartments at the side of the product (the other compartments will be used for water storage for irrigation and the back of the growbox is for composting which will also help to generate an amount of heat in the colder months).

I would also love to hear your thoughts on any safety factors you think I will need to cover in the electrical design for the PV components.

PV GrowBox Concept.JPG
Thanks for taking the time to respond your feedback will be very much appreciated.

I like the concept.

Are the panels that appear, for lack of a better term, like “windows”, actually the solar panels?

Where will wiring run safely without being exposed to excessive moisture or pinch points at the frame/hinges?

I like the concept.

Are the panels that appear, for lack of a better term, like “windows”, actually the solar panels?

Where will wiring run safely without being exposed to excessive moisture or pinch points at the frame/hinges?