diy solar

diy solar

Solar powered USB port in vehicle

grdnman

I have a Arduino device (esp8266) that I'm using in a vehicle. My issue is powering it. Right now I'm using a power bank (24000mah) with a USB port. I have to bring the power bank in every 2 to 3 days to charge it, which can take 6 hours.

I want a solar powered USB port that runs 24/7. My plan: Solar Panel -> Charge Controller -> 12v Battery -> 12v to 5v USB adapter -> Arduino device

If needed, I can occasionally bring the battery in and charge it. The goal is to rarely have to do that. The battery I've chosen has a built in BMS with high/low temperature protections.

I have no experience with the solar / power side of this. I'm basing some of this info on this post: https://forum.arduino.cc/t/most-efficient-way-to-power-an-arduino-from-a-12v-battery-array/682744/7

Parts list:

- Solar Panels + Charge Controller
$34.99 Apowery Solar Panel Kit 12V Monocrystalline,Battery Maintainer +10A Solar Charge Controller

- Battery
$35.99 SEFEPODER 12V 8Ah LiFePO4 Lithium Deep Cycle Battery, 2000+ Cycles Rechargeable

- 12vDC to USB adapter
$15.99 DC 12V 24V to 5V USB Step Down Converter

Extras:

Battery Charger
$27.99 LTRAPOWER 4-Amp 14.6 Volt LiFePO4 Battery Charger
Comment: I can easily take 5 hours each month to charge it.

I would prefer to keep it at $150-ish if possible. Is this solar panel kit enough? Mostly the Arduino device will be used and not much of anything else. Any thoughts? See any mistakes? Suggestions?

I have one of those, but there's several issues.

#1. It cannot power my device all night long without running the vehicle battery down.
#2. The vehicle is rarely used/moved, therefore the battery would go dead very shortly unless cranked.

The Arduino device needs to run 24/7.

In addition, I need a stand-alone package/kit that I can move from 1 vehicle to another at a later point also.

I have one of those, but there's several issues.