diy solar

diy solar

SolarEdge autotransformer 500 watt idle consumption?

TennesseeGuy

Good day everyone! I'm a beginner getting my first system (off grid) up and running.

I'm using a growatt 5000es and a solaredge autotranformer for the 120v generation.

I'm currently charging the system now and noticed that there is about a 10-12% load on the system via the growatt display. I don't have anything running at all, I'm just charging via panels and have the tranformer on but no loads on the main panel.

It's showing anywhere from 475sh to 530sh volt amps on the growatt readout, which is about that 10% load.

If I shut the tranformer off, the load on the invetter goes to zero right away.

Should the tranformers idle consumption be this high or is something wrong?

No, that is order of magnitude higher than what I would expect.
Are you sure the transformer was not powering some loads?
Is the transformer wired correctly?

Definitely no loads on it.

I believe it is wired correctly, Im running L1 and N (L1 and L2) from the ac output of the growatt to my main panel into a double pole breaker. Then another double pole breaker running that L1 and L2 from the main panel to the L1 and L2 of the tranformer. Then N from the tranformer runs back to the N bar on the main panel to create the 120v split.

I did hook a few loads up to see if it worked but they have since been disconnected days ago. I ran my RV off of it to test it as well but it is also not hooked up anymore.

It's showing anywhere from 475sh to 530sh volt amps on the growatt readout, which is about that 10% load.
You are seeing reactive power is not real power. Put in into off-grid mode powered from battery and see how many DC amps is it pulling with autotransformer only.