diy solar

diy solar

System Layout Questions Sol Ark 15k and EG4 Batteries

rkwolfe

I just purchased a Sol Ark 15k, a pallet (33) of Canadian Solar 445W Bifacial Solar Panel | CS3W-445MB-AG, and a 6 pack of the EG4-LL Lithium Batteries Kit | (48v 100Ah) with the enclosure and bus work. This is for an off grid cabin roughly 12 x 20 with a loft. I am also looking at a Sinclair ground mount.

I input the solar panel parameters into the Sol Ark sizing tool and it recommends 30 panels total. The Sol Ark 15k has 3 MMPTs so I was thinking for each MMPT two parallel strings of 5 in series. The math seems to work with 250VOC (Sol ark states 400VOC is max) and roughly 28 Amps max (max with bifacial gain) per each MMPT. The max the Sol Ark can us is 26 Amps but they say it will auto limit Amps on the rare chance the bifacial panels can get that high in Amps.

I am a mechanical engineer with basic electrical training and understanding. I have worked a lot with power plant high voltage and basic home wiring. I know I need some help on the layout and I am looking for any thoughts - good, bad, crazy, etc.

My plan is a Sinclair ground mount with the 30 solar panels. The ground mount is roughly 90 feet from the cabin. I am planning to install a tornado shelter (90% underground) right next to the cabin to use for the battery and inverter storage area. I am hoping it will stay cooler in the summer and above freezing in the winter. Location is southern Oklahoma. From the tornado shelter then the AC output from the Sol Ark would run a few feet to the breaker panel in the cabin.

If the 3 sets of 5s2p is a good idea then I was guessing 8 AWG wire (6 total, 3 pos, 3 neg). The MMPTs on the Sol Ark are limited to roughly that amount of Watts each. Not sure if the voltage drop calculator is factoring both directions but I think that would put the loss at less than 2%?