diy solar

diy solar

Using Lithium Iron Phosphate Batteries to supplement Bluetti Power Stations

Solar User

Hello all,

I am a relative beginner to the solar world but am enjoying the learning process a great deal. I have a question about having several lithium iron phosphate batteries on hand to serve strictly as capacity for recharging some solar power stations (specifically batteries similar to the 12 V Power Queen series to charge Bluetti series power stations). I have used many of the Bluetti Power stations (all sizes) in the past so I am fairly familiar with them. My questions revolve around the idea that I would like to be able to charge the power stations at a relatively decent rate of charge directly from the 12V batteries (DC to DC for best efficiency). I have seen videos where this was done using a boost converter (12V up to 36V) and the charge rate on the bigger Bluetti stations was pretty good (exceeding 400 watts). In an attempt to do this sort of thing, I have several questions:

1) Does anyone make a quality boost converter that would step up 12V to 24V (or better yet 36V) that is plug and play for Bluetti stations? (I guess this would ideally have pre-made leads to go to the battery and then leads that go to MC4 connectors to use for the stations since there are different plug types for different size stations)

2) Is a fuse needed with the boost converter?

3) This may sound silly but how do I charge the batteries? Do I need specific equipment (charger) to plug into an AC wall outlet to charge the batteries? Is there a plug and play setup that would allow me to charge the batteries with solar panels (specifically two or three of the Bluetti PV420 (420 watt) panels in series)? I have done some research and think I would at least need a solar charge controller but not sure about what size I would need or if there are units that have cables already made where I could plug in MC4 connectors directly to the controller.