diy solar

diy solar

What am I doing wrong with the TriStar solar calculator? ??

Urge38

Hi Guys

I am trying to decide what panels might suit me Tristar MPPT 45a controller,

Please see attached photos of panels datasheet, MPPT datasheet and MPPT calculator with my manually inputted values (as I could not find this panel in the dropdown)

the TRiSTAR calculator says I have a too high voltage!!!!
I was under the impression my Tristar MPPT could handle 150v and the panels I have chosen are only 55a voc

I am obviously missing something but as I am just starting out with solar, I don't know everything.

PLEASE NOTE.
my Tristar is the 45a MPPT on the datasheet.
The chosen panels are the LR-566HIH-500M on the datasheet.

Attachments

• 20240208_212132.jpg
    20240208_212132.jpg
    269.6 KB · Views: 11
  • 20240208_212147.jpg
    20240208_212147.jpg
    394.9 KB · Views: 11
  • 20240208_212207.jpg
    20240208_212207.jpg
    355.1 KB · Views: 11
Hi Guys

I am trying to decide what panels might suit me Tristar MPPT 45a controller,

Please see attached photos of panels datasheet, MPPT datasheet and MPPT calculator with my manually inputted values (as I could not find this panel in the dropdown)

the TRiSTAR calculator says I have a too high voltage!!!!
I was under the impression my Tristar MPPT could handle 150v and the panels I have chosen are only 55a voc

I am obviously missing something but as I am just starting out with solar, I don't know everything.

PLEASE NOTE.
my Tristar is the 45a MPPT on the datasheet.
The chosen panels are the LR-566HIH-500M on the datasheet.
Look at the coefficients - for example the VoC coefficient is a small negative value. It represents how much the voltage drops as temps increase and goes up as temps go down… the correct values should be on the panel spec sheet.