diy solar

diy solar

What minimum size battery for startup off grid solar array

Rascal

I'm slowly acquiring components and have not yet ordered any solar panels for the 400 watt off grid camper system I will build. I have a 35 amp/hr AGM, a 20 amp/hr LiFePo from Bioenno Power, and a 50 amp/hr LiFePo, also from Bioenno. I'm a ham radio operator who trains for disasters so my 50 amp battery has a 180 watt, 3 panel solar array and is dedicated to my mobile radio station. The camper system will be 400 watts but I can't afford to order the panels yet. I have a 40 amp EPEver Tracer MPPT charge controller, just ordered a 3000 watt pure sine wave inverter, a DC circuit breaker, and fuses. I'm acquiring stuff in bits. BTW, the camper is a 6 x 12 enclosed cargo trailer I'm converting to be a mobile radio station.

So a couple of questions: should my panels all be of the same vintage or can I order them one at a time as I have cash? What is the minimum battery size for a 100 watt panel? I don't want to kill my battery. I plan to buy 2 Battle Born 100 amp/hr batteries when I have enough cash. In the meantime I want to assemble my system and get it into at least partial service as I acquire parts.

Thanks!

It makes life easier if they are of same voltage and amp ratings. Scour craigslist and maybe you can find a good deal on some used or extra panels.

A 100 watt panel will produce about 500 watts a day so that will only charge a battle born battery less than half.

You are going about this in an unconventional way. First you should determine your power needs. Then get batteries to supply the power. Then panels matched to a charge controller capable of recharging the power you use daily (more ideally).
Then an inverter.
Your 3000w inverter will require at least 2x 100ah LiFePO4 batteries. And even the discharge is 1.25C.
3000w is around the level you should have a 24v battery bank.

The math:
Assuming 12v system: 3000/12=250amps.
Discharge 200ah at 250a is 1.25C.