diy solar

diy solar

Where to begin? How about this?

Rumplestiltskin

I am a total noob so I want to start small and run a few tests. I sketched out a very small system and I wanted to run it by some people (here) who undoubtedly, know 1000% more than I.

The system would consist of the following:
- DIY solar air heater about 4' x 3' with maybe 2.5" of airgap between the front glass and the inside insulation. The simplest design has a series of back-&-forth channels which takes in air from a hole in the rear bottom and pushes it out a hole in the rear top. (The performance seems similar to the ones with internal metal channels so KISS.) YouTube videos show the exhaust air reaching 140-150f so that should be plenty. Not a lot of CFM possible here. Off the cuff calcs indicate less than 2.5 cubic feet of air contained in the heater at any given moment. So let's assume that a small 5V computer fan pushes the air at 4.5CFM. What could I possibly heat from this? Certainly nothing at night when I'd really need the heat.