diy solar

diy solar

2200watts should i go 48volt?

zachdc13

I recently purchased 4 540 watt panels and would like to wire them in series and purchase a 6KW 120/240volt hybrid all in one mppt charge controller. Large loads will be mr cool 130vac mini split and blomberg 240vac apartment sized washer and dryer set. My question is will the open circuit current rating on these allow for a 48V system? I am worried 49.6 wont allow a full charge on batteries? Specs on the panels posted. Novice here any advice appreciated.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230710_201921_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20230710_201921_Chrome.jpg
    155.1 KB · Views: 11
Yes it will provided you place 2 panels in series to create ~100 volts. I would make 2 sets like this and parallel those sets. Like you said if you just parallel the panels you wont have a high enough voltage.

Yes it will provided you place 2 panels in series to create ~100 volts. I would make 2 sets like this and parallel those sets. Like you said if you just parallel the panels you wont have a high enough voltage.
Won't that yield only 24volts though?

if you put the cells in series it will double the volts . I did misread and quote the open circuit voltage not the operating voltage of around 42 so in series you will have 84 volts from each set and then in parallel you will double the amps.

if you put the cells in series it will double the volts . I did misread and quote the open circuit voltage not the operating voltage of around 42 so in series you will have 84 volts from each set and then in parallel you will double the amps.
So I am confused could I yield a 48volt system then? Or just 24volt?

Read the specs of the hybrid inverter you're considering. It should list an MPPT voltage range, and absolute maximum Voc (panels will deliver higher voltage in freezing conditions.)

Typically Voc limit may be 100V, 150, 250, 450, 600V depending on model.