diy solar

diy solar

4000 kWh usage per month

aragonx

Okay, I'm still new to this whole solar thing. But I don't think I can fully run my house on solar. Ever...

I've built an array, got some storage and have some real numbers now to use. Right now with 6 400 Watt panels I'm pulling in about 10 KWH/day (been lots of sunny days). That is using 1/2 of 1 side of my garage roof. My main roof can hold about 20 panels per side of the same size. These would all be east facing. I don't have numbers for the west side yet but I'm guessing it'll be about the same? So if I use all available space, and have perfect weather, always, I can pull in about 2200 KWH/month. But my electric bill is 4000 KWH/month (even higher during really cold or really hot months)!

Now, this house is oldish, 2 story 4 bedroom. Colonial build in 1975. So there is probably quite a bit of heat/cooling loss. Windows all leak, etc. And everything is electric. Electric stove, cloths dryer, heat pump and hot water heater. But I believe the average usage per house in my state is 1000 KWH/month. Does that sound right?

I guess my question is: Is my consumption really that far outside the norm? Or am I doing something wrong?

best bet is to start with an Emporia Vue monitor system. You need to figure out where exactly all that power is going. they are pretty easy to install, does not require an electrician.

I'd say it is on the high side. People knew about insulation in the 70's, but that did not mean good energy reducing practices were used in your house.
Most time you see more savings from fixing the energy hogs than making more power.
Get an inexpensive thermal camera (or one that mounts to your cell phone) and look/fix hot/cold spots and gaps around doors/windows/attic.
Make sure the windows are latched to pull them together.
See if you can easily add attic insulation.