diy solar

diy solar

Advice on system components - EG4 18K

Max de Arriz

Rather illuminating.
Hello there,

I hope all is well in your world. I'm a total amateur here, but I know enough to avoid basic electrical fires. EG4 makes a sweet PDF. I am interested building my own system.

Here is my big question: What would you use fore the components below (image below)?

1. 2 Pole - 3 Position manual transfer switch. (I saw a pretty cool 3 position breaker by GE) GE Breaker f@ Home depot
  2. PV interactive 2 pole fused disconnect.
  3. 200A Main Service breaker (I assume a stand alone box?)
  4. A Feeder Tap (Is this more or less a bus bar?)
  5. Feeder Tap Breaker (I kind of took this is mean a regular ole 200A breaker)

1689282151555.png

Thank you so much for your help!

Best,
Max

Hey Max -

Similar position as you trying to assemble a bill of materials.

For the 200A main service disconnect, you can use something like this that also has an accommodation for a meter socket.

The diagram references a couple different feeder tap options. I personally have experience with Polaris taps. Fundamentally they are bonding devices. The NEC has a whole set of rules around how you can use them. I found this video to be fairly helpful. Especially if you have a cup of coffee.

I started a similar thread to ask about recs on protection off of the feeder tap. I would like to combine both of those OCPD / disconnects into a single enclosure, if possible. The fact that the PV side says fused makes me wonder if that is literal, or if a breaker is adequate.

I looked at the same transfer switch. Would like to find a less expensive one given the relative simplicity of the device??

Best of luck.

Austin

For others that find this thread, I want to note something that took me an hour to figure out:
The "PV Interactive System 2-pole Fused Disconnect" refers to a