diy solar

diy solar

Alaskan new to van conversion struggling with electrical system

Sdvoley

Hello! I just bought a Ram promaster and I have been researching a lot about electrical systems and just keep getting more confused! I’ve been debating a DIY with 200 a of batteries, 300-400 solar, alternator charging, shore charging, etc. OR an all-in-one or portable system. I’m not an electrician and do not have hardly any knowledge. My needs are:
DC: water pump, maxxair fan, lights, 12 V fridge, phone charging and
AC: charging for two computers, drone and video equipment and maybe tv.

I’d like to be off grid for about a week at a time.
Plan to live in camper 6 months out of year.
Any recommendations?

I have looked at Ecoflow, Bluetti for all-in-one
And if DIY would like reliable batteries (Battleborn) and possibly Victron!Renogy parts.
Solar could be fixed or portable. I don’t mind spending the money if reliable, trusted and good warranty.

Very basic Vehicle AC+DC system:

More detailed system:

While the complexity of that schematic is absolutely overwhelming, spend some time with it. Read the accompanying text as well as the text boxes on the schematics. You'll eventually get it.

As far as what you need in a system, link #1 in my signature. You need to define your needs before you can spec a system.

Note that van rooftop PV is going to be pretty horrible in AK. It will be far more beneficial to hang the panels on the side of the van facing South rather than on the roof.

Very basic Vehicle AC+DC system:

More detailed system:

While the complexity of that schematic is absolutely overwhelming, spend some time with it. Read the accompanying text as well as the text boxes on the schematics. You'll eventually get it.

As far as what you need in a system, link #1 in my signature. You need to define your needs before you can spec a system.