diy solar

diy solar

BMS needed?

Nujenj

I was wondering if I need BMS for a 4S8P raw LiFePO4 batteries for the sole purpose of use for my travel trailer. These batteries will be charged by two 150v max 60 amp MPPT charge controllers. I am new to all this so forgive me if I am missing any information you need. Thanks for the help!

4s8p is actually 8 12.8 volt batteries in parallel.
Normally that would require 8 BMSs.

4s8p is actually 8 12.8 volt batteries in parallel.
Normally that would require 8 BMSs.
yes there will be 8 12v batteries. I was told by the president of the https://www.electriccarpartscompany.com that I wouldn't need the BMS if I were to make sure to balance out all the cells properly. Just wanted to hear from others in the this community what the pros and cons were? The Battery specs are below: I will have 32 of these which make up 8 packs of 12.8v

100Ah Lithium Battery, 3.2V, 2C (6C peak, 10 sec)

Aluminum Shell Batteries

Lithium LiFePO4

5.4L * 1.6W * 12H in​

Last edited:
You need the BMS .... do a search for "need BMS"..... or are you just here to stir the pot. Seems like there is one of these posts every day.

.....and don't trust anyone who tells you otherwise.

You need the BMS .... do a search for "need BMS"..... or are you just here to stir the pot. Seems like there is one of these posts every day.

.....and don't trust anyone who tells you otherwise.
I am not here to stir the pot, I read a bunch and it talked about portable batteries and some post had remade batteries. I am new to all this so I apologize.

Do a search on the subject and you will find a LOT of discussion.

The bottom line is that a battery pack will tend to get out of balance over time .... or you may have a bad connection develop .... etc, etc.
The BMS is the only device that monitors individual cell voltages in invokes protections based on that.