diy solar

diy solar

Building a house battery backup

birchfinnigus

Hey guys, beginner here, but I've been planning my system for a while. Right now I'm focused on a 48v battery system that charges off of the grid and can be used to power house necessities in the case of a power outage. Eventually I will add solar into the mix when I figure out my panel placement.

The parts I've ordered -
  • HYBRID LV6048
  • 48V Overkill BMS
  • 16x 3.2v 280AH Lishen Cells
I'm building this in my shed, which has a breaker box. I want to run 240v from the mainline box to the HYBRID LV6048, and during a power outage, run a 240v generator cable to a transfer switch at the house to power the mini split and potentially the water heater.

I'm still doing my energy audit. According to the brochure, my mini split has a max heating power input of 5.1kw (it does not say kwh, I'm assuming it is?). But when I measure the power being drawn via my Sense home monitor, I'm not coming anywhere close to that. So I'm going to shut down everything but the mini split and the water heater and get some real world data.

I was delighted to see Will released some 48v videos with a DIY battery. So I'm using these as my guide.

Some questions I had -
  1. In Will's video he uses a 6 gauge wire. According to my specs, a 10 gauge wire should be fine, I don't anticipate pulling more than 200A. Should I go bigger?
  2. When getting a breaker from the battery to the inverter, should I be sizing to the job or just go with the max (200A)?
  3. What am I missing? This seems too easy.

he parts I've ordered -
  • HYBRID LV6048
  • 48V Overkill BMS
  • 16x 3.2v 280AH Lishen Cells
Hmmmmm... To get full power out of the 6KW hybrid, you will need ~6000W/51V=117 amp. If the inverter is 95% efficient that goes to 123A.
If the batteries are near empty (48V) it goes to 131A,

So.... the LV6048 and the 100A Overkill are not well matched. I would want at least 150A capability for a 6KW inverter.