diy solar

diy solar

Charging 4S-12 Volt Lifepo4 Batteries with Made Well NPB-360-48? Slow Charging is the Question.

kenden

I just purchased 4 HiMASSi 12V 100ah low temp charging batteries to replace the SLA batteries in my Ryobi Zero Turn mower. I think that I have decided on the Made Well NPB-360-48 charger to use with them as it provides a 2 or 3 stage charging profile where I can adjust the output voltage (42-60V) and current (3-6amps). I expect that I will use the mower 1-2 times per week. So a long charging time is not a concern.

I am planning to only charge to ~90% by limiting the voltage to some value less that 57V and only using the 2 stage charging. The spec sheet for the charger suggests charging batteries with an amp-hr capacity between 20-65ah but recommends checking with battery manufacturer...

As I have no experience with Lifepo4 batteries, will charging these 100ah batteries with only 5-6 amps a cause problems with them? reduce their life?

Google and I have not been able to find anything that suggests that it does but I thought I would ask here as there seems to be a lot of experience.

Also, the battery BMS uses a bluetooth app that allows for monitoring the SOC and cell balance.

Slow charging is not a concern. 5 amps is plenty.

Battery to battery balance is a concern. Need to fully charge all at 12v parallel to make them balanced. Or need a battery to battery balancer. The BMS will balance the internal cells but generally not battery to battery.

The other concern is to verify the 12v batteries are compatible with having four in series. The BMS for each battery needs to be capable of controlling the full 48 volts.

The Meanwell NPB series chargers work great.