diy solar

diy solar

Charging and discharging at the same time in a simple system

drabina

I read some threads regarding charging and discharging the battery at the same time but I am still a bit confused. In a super simple setup with 100W solar panel, PWM controller, battery and a load (i.e. LED lights), can the solar panel charge at the same time when the LED lights are connected and on?

I am still trying to figure out a solution for my refrigerator in the car problem. I need a setup that during the day will allow me to run the refrigerator while the solar panel is charging the battery to which the refrigerator is connected to. I do have a power station but according to the manufacturer, this particular model cannot be charged via solar and used at the same time.

Posting here in the noob section as this is probably something easy and obvious to you guys but I am fairly new to the solar power.

I read some threads regarding charging and discharging the battery at the same time but I am still a bit confused. In a super simple setup with 100W solar panel, PWM controller, battery and a load (i.e. LED lights), can the solar panel charge at the same time when the LED lights are connected and on?
Yes. In your example the solar panel and PWM charge controller are separate devices that will take sunlight and convert it to the proper voltage regardless of what else is connected to the batteries such as LED lights and/or an inverter. Whether the battery charges is dependent on the amount of power being produced compared to power being consumed. If there is 75Watts coming in from the PWM controller on a sunny day and the LED lights draw 25W, the 50W remainder is available for charging the battery but may or may or may not be entirely used depending on how full the battery already is.