diy solar

diy solar

DC Switch for lights, switch positive or negative leg of circuit?

seprintz

This may be a silly question, but I'm new to wiring the DC load side of the house.

In the past I retrofitted a travel trailer with 24v LiFePO4 batteries and an inverter, but all of the house wiring from the 12v distribution/fuse box to all the switches and lights were stock from the RV manufacturer.

I'm currently building a DIY travel trailer from scratch. When installing a switch, do I switch the positive, or negative side of the circuit? I bought this switch, and it's a single pole, single throw switch:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08CZ9BTNZ?ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details&th=1

I would have assumed switch the positive side, but I recently did some work on my van (tow vehicle), and noticed that the door switch for the dome lights actually switches the circuit to ground (which in a mobile application, I understand to be the same as the negative).

In a mobile application, negative battery is typically tied to chassis. And so, it saves on wire switching negative.

I would always switch the positive.. switching negative you have the chance that if for any wacky reason the appliance grounds itself to ground(all the chassis if grounded is negative), it will complete the circuit..
Another reason it that if you have to do any maintenance on the appliance, you would still have a live positive (unless yous switch off the main circuit), and more chances to go to ground.
Instead if the positive is switched off, you could smash the thing onto the chassis without worries of completing the circuit.
I don't get what tom is saying about saving on wire switching the negative.. I may have a different approach to wiring..
Actually I'm using almost all wireless relays on my campervan, so I don't have wires all over the places and I can decide at the end where to put the switches..