diy solar

diy solar

DIY LiFePo4 24v battery bank???

Nord

Hi,

I'm new to solar but am diving in headfirst. I don't want to spend $4k on 4 100ah battle born batteries. I've been watching Will Prowse's youtube channel and learning heaps. He talks up the cells you can buy off Alibaba.com and I want to get your opinions on the pros and cons of buying 8 or 16 of these cells and stringing them together for a cheap battery bank. I'm thinking of doing either a 24v or 48v system. I'm building a school bus into an off grid adventure mobile and I want it to be capable of running a/c and power tools etc....I know it's going to be expensive but I'd prefer it not be $4k-$8k in batteries alone.

Thanks y'all,

Matt
Instagram @elchanchoamarillo if you'd like to follow along on the bus build.

I pursued the same thing for a 24v pack. Purchased 8 cells from Xuba on Alibaba. They’re currently en route. With this cost I saved so much, it was absolutely worth the time and effort when it’s all said and done.

I purchased (16) of the 3.2volt 280 amp hour cells (making two 24volt batteries) for less than 2k shipped to my door. This would equate to about 10k in Battleborn batteries. I am very happy with my purchase. They are being discussed in this thread if you would like to read about them further and do some research: https://diysolarforum.com/threads/xuba-electronics-deal-280ah-lifepo4-cells-purchase-review.3850/

Thanks for the info! I'm starting to read Will's book now. As soon as I grasp that I'll start shopping. I still need to understand how to configure my set up for what I need it for and whether I need 48v set up or can get by with a 24v. Can you tell me about your set up and what you plan on running with it?

I am using my system to run a 12,000 BTU air conditioner to keep a room cool for my dog at an off grid property I own in Arizona. The system is way bigger than needed, but I will be adding more uses for it in the future.