diy solar

diy solar

DIY Solar A-Z beginner

Platinummatt

Been watching Will and educating about solar power for a month now. I have a lot of experience with Car/ marine wiring amplifiers stereos but I would like to start purchasing the best equipment that I can start my solar project. Goal is to buy and build a small array but purchase good equipment that I can add to and potentially run a majority of my house. Before I go nuts I would love advice on where to start. Have garbage and easy accessible roof. Buy batteries first? I do have a 4,000 inverter but that’s a cheap one from Harbor Frieght. Since I want to make sure I will get into it and have time to enjoy building any advice where to start would be great!

This was also my idea when I started the journey. The water looked inviting, but diving into the nice swimming area instead of the shark pool takes a lot of searching... the water all looks the same from the top!

A good place to start is knowing how much energy you need. Folks here usually call that an energy audit, and searching that will get you a lot of reading on determining what a “majority of my house” actually involves. I was shocked to learn how large of a system it would take to replace most of my grid supply, but your scenario may be more modest. Knowledge is power, no pun intended.

I applaud your looking for quality components. It says a lot about your intention, whether you go with off the shelf gear, DIY/home made parts, or a combination. You’ll begin to get a grasp on forum favorites with a little reading. I am a firm believer in the “buy once, cry once” concept. Buy quality and it only hurts once. :)

And welcome to the forum!

I got into it by installing a grid tie inverter. In the meantime I had accumulated some experience with LFP batteries converting a VW to electric. The next step was use some of those batteries on an Outback Radian for load shifting.