diy solar

diy solar

Does a 20 watt, 24 volt system have enough amps to charge?

swiftk77

I am a VERY newbie to solar, although I have been consider it for my RV! A few weeks ago I had a driveway gate installed and it came with a solar kit, but it just isn't charging the batteries and I don't know if it's the panel or the charge controller. The panel is a small 20 watt @ 24 volts, but the max power current (Imp) is only 0.56 amps. Everything tests out with my multi-meter, I get anywhere between 36-41 volts during peak sun and the amps remains pretty close to 0.56, but my two 12 volt small seal lead acid deep cycle batteries aren't getting charged. I called the gate company and it was clear within 5 mins that I knew more about solar than they did, and that was after an hour of googling. So the question I have is, "will 0.56 amps enough current to charge the batteries"? Do I need to get an extra solar panel to double the amp output? Should I just get a larger 24 volt panel; such as 100 watt to get ~5amps instead?

Thanks and sorry for the novice question!

So, if your two 12v batteries are wired in series to make a 24v nominal system and you hook a 41v (open circuit) solar panel to it, the batteries will pull the solar panel output down to battery voltage, which may be as high as 28-29v. If you had 0.56amps at that voltage, you’ve got more like 15watts of true output. If you wanted todo better youd have to use an MPPT charge controller and i highly doubt your system includes one.

I dont know anything about what hardware is typical in a solar gate opener setup but i suspect two main issues:
1. You’re simply outpacing the charging system by using the gate too much, or not having enough sun hours to compensate for your gate use. More solar panel could fix this.