diy solar

diy solar

eBike charging questions from complete newbie

eTouringOldie

I'm looking for a 200W charging system for my 48volt ebike battery. I want it to be portable (foldable enough to store in a bike trailer when not in use) so I can do some touring without worrying about finding outlets every day. I presume that I'll ride mornings and/or evenings and charge in the middle of the day. A more ambitious version of this story would be to figure out a way to mount the solar panels to allow charging while I ride, but that's probably a pipe dream.

Question: pre-packaged systems which directly charge the ebike battery seem to have a 'step-up MPPT charging controller' which accepts the PV, which can be anywhere from 12V to around 30V and steps the voltage up to 48V (or even as high as 72V in some cases). Seems like the inverter option means carrying more gear (AC charger, inverter, solar panels and whatever hardware is included to output to the inverter) vs a 'direct connect approach, although I imagine I'll carry the AC charger in any case.

As you can probably tell, I barely know what I'm talking about. Key point here is that I'm looking for a system to be used for one purpose only (charge the ebike battery).

Here are some examples of the pre-packaged system I've considered:

Maybe there's no better/cheaper DIY option?

Thanks for any assistance!

For any portable panel, I would look at lots of independent reviews first. Most of those kits don't put out what they're rated for.

How big (amp hours) is your 48V battery? We'll give you some ideas about how realistic is it is to charge off 200W.

What "also" is critical is the charge controller type..
Battery is 22 AH. That's why I'm looking at 200W systems. I get that charging it will still take several hours. My vision is that I sometimes get places and lay up for a day to recharge, sometimes don't go 'that far' so a partial charge is good enough, and sometimes have access to AC.