diy solar

diy solar

EG4 3kW won't charge with a generator

guyroch

Hi,

I have the EG4 3kW inverter (3000EHV-48). It charges over 120v AC 'house' power, but not 120v AC power from a generator? Generator is a 3000w Champion, and I have the AC max charge set to 18amp on the inverter, so plenty of 'generator' juice to charge, but it refused to charge.

When I plug the inverter into 'house' AC it charges without changing any settings on the inverter. What I'm I missing?

This setup does not have solar panels connected to it, I mainly use it for a backup power during extended power outages.

Thank you.

Is it an inverter generator or an open frame? There might be a setting in the EG4 to open up the frequency range so it's more forgiving of its AC input range.

I am new to these AIO inverters but experienced the same problem with a SRNE AIO clone. I had a non inverter type generator powering the AC input and the frequency varied between 59-60hz and the AIO would not recognize that input. I then connected a inverter type generator and it showed a constant 59.9hz and worked perfectly.

I guess you could power a stand alone battery charger with your Champion generator to charge your batteries but kind of defeats the convenience
of the AIO in my opinion. Option B is try an inverter type generator and see if it works. Good luck, there seems to be a few undocumented "features" on these AIO's.

Interesting you say this. The 3000W Champion generator has a 30amp NEMA L5-30R outlet (#3 in the image), and I was using that 30 amp outlet. I wonder if I had used one of the 4x NEMA 5-20R 120v 20amp (#5 in the image) if it would have made a difference - worth a try.

1680875531041.png

1680875858689.png

Hi,

I have the EG4 3kW inverter (3000EHV-48). It charges over 120v AC 'house' power, but not 120v AC power from a generator? Generator is a 3000w Champion, and I have the AC max charge set to 18amp on the inverter, so plenty of 'generator' juice to charge, but it refused to charge.