diy solar

diy solar

Excess Sun Power

Repro

Solar Enthusiast
I am still relatively new to solar power, and I am now seeing the raw benefits of it. I finished my current system and brought it online at the end of Oct. last year. So all of the following information is winter months with short days. Now I tried to calculate everything to get system components to cover my needs without going overboard. I have 20kWh in batteries, and a little over 4K in panels and my SCC is a Victron 150/70. A typical nights use on the batteries was 35%-45%. That load was a forced air gas furnace, one sump pump, two full size fridges, wash machine, two outlets in the kitchen and the whole office to include the computers. I have a second smaller system with 10KwH in batteries, three 440W panels, and it powers a freezer, a sump pump, our bedroom, the garage, garage lighting and door opener, and outdoor security lighting and oulets. I usually uses 30%-35% of the batteries overnight.

My batteries are usually topped off and in float around 1PM. Even on overcast days, my batteries top off a few hours later. Now with longer days, no furnace running and more power being produced, I have a LOT of excess power not being used. One thing I am doing is plugging in a dehumidifier during the day after the batteries are full to use some of the power. At night I switch the dehumidifier back to grid power. It draws 700-900 watts when the compressor is on.

My question is, does anyone have any creative ideas on how to use the power, other than just plugging stuff in during the day? I calculate that approx, 8kWh or more per day are just not being used. I feel like it is a waste.

If you only ran the dehumitifier during the day, off of the solar, that would shift a bit more load to the solar. This is assuming it is acceptable to leave it off at night and then let it catch up during the day.